Undergraduate Study

The School of Computer Science offers scholarships and bursaries for students wishing to study for an undergraduate degree in a Computer Science subject. Scholarships are awarded to students who have, or expect to achieve, excellent academic results and are available to students in the following programmes:

  • BSc Computer Science
  • BEng/MEng Computer Science and Software Engineering
  • BSc Artificial Intelligence and Computer Science
  • BSc Computer Science with Business Management
  • MSci Computer Science

Home/EU Students Only:

For students intending to study in 2016, we have a number of the following Scholarship available:

£3000 for the first year of study

Applicants will be considered for our Scholarships on the basis of an offer being made, Applicant Visit Day attendance, content of overall application and final results obtained in 2015. (Alternative arrangements will be made for suitable students not resident in the UK who are unable to attend an Applicant Visit Day for this reason. Any prospective applicants will be contacted directly regarding these arrangements.) Applicants must also make Birmingham their Firm choice.

Our School Scholarship Committee will meet in August to consider suitable applications once results are released. Successful applicants will be notified by email/post.

International Students Only:

View the full range of Undergraduate International Scholarships

General University Scholarships:

Please visit our University Scholarships website for information about general financial support regarding bursaries, grants and scholarships.


External Scholarships

Ever thought about a career in the television and broadcast industries? Media companies are interested in recruiting Computer Science students, and you may be eligible to apply for a bursary from the Royal Television Society. £1000 a year, membership of the Society, of the Hospital Club and placements with a range of media companies are on offer as part of the bursary. To find out more and apply please visit the Royal Television Society.