School of Computer Science

Academic Staff

For general contact information regarding the School of Computer Science, see out general contact page or admissions contact page.

Please note that some academic staff specialise in more than one research area, so may appear under different themes. We also have a dedicated academic faculty at our University of Birmingham Dubai campus.

Artificial Intelligence

Dr Mohammed Bahja
Dr Hyung Jin Chang
Dr Jinming Duan
Dr Eliseo Ferrante (Dubai campus)
Dr Peter Hancox
Dr Shan He
Professor Ata Kaban
Dr Manfred Kerber
Dr Mark Lee (Deputy Head of School)
Dr Per Kristian Lehre
Professor Ales Leonardis
Dr Max Little
Dr Leandro Minku
Professor Dave Parker
Dr Kashif Rajpoot (Dubai campus)
Mr Alan Sexton
Dr Phil Smith
Dr Volker Sorge
Dr Mohan Sridharan
Dr Iain Styles
Dr Harish Tayyar Madubushi
Professor Peter Tino
Professor Xin Yao

Computational and Life Sciences

Professor Ela Claridge
Professor Hamid Dehghani
Dr Jinming Duan
Dr Iain Styles

Cyber Security and Privacy

Dr Ian Batten
Dr Tom Chothia
Dr David Galindo
Professor Flavio Garcia
Dr Mihai Ordean
Dr David Oswald
Professor Dave Parker
Dr Christophe Petit
Dr Vincent Rahli
Dr Eike Ritter
Professor Mark Ryan (Lead for the Centre of Security and Privacy)
Dr Sujoy Sinha Roy

Human Centred Computing

Professor Chris Baber
Dr Rami Bahsoon
Professor Russell Beale
Dr Sandy Gould
Dr Mian Muhammed Hamayun (Dubai campus)
Mr Bob Hendley
Professor Andrew Howes (Head of School)
Dr Ahmad Ibrahim (Dubai campus)
Dr Priya Manimaran (Dubai campus)
Professor Martin Russell
Professor Karen Yeung (Interdisciplinary Professorial Fellow in Law, Ethics and Informatics - joint appointment with School of Law)

Theory of Computation

Dr Benedikt Ahrens
Dr Miriam Backens
Dr Martin Escardo
Dr Dan Ghica
Professor Achim Jung
Dr Manfred Kerber
Dr Paul Levy
Professor Dave Parker
Professor Uday Reddy
Dr Eike Ritter
Dr Jamie Vicary
Dr Noam Zeilberger