European Workshop on Learning Robots 1999

to be held at EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland

on September 18th 1999

Supported by MLNet

Co-located with ECAL-99

Registration, Travel and Accommodation
Programme Committee
Important Dates


The Eighth European Workshop on Learning Robots will take place at EPFL in Lausanne Switzerland, on Saturday 18th September, immediately after the European Conference on Artificial Life 1999 (ECAL'99). There will also be an intensive workshop on behaviour based robotics run by Dario Floreano and Ronald Arkin, also at EPFL, from September 8-10; details will follow.

Robot Learning is an area of interest to many different scientific fields such as Robotics, Artificial Intelligence, Artificial Life, Neuroscience, and Cognitive Science. The main goal of EWLR-8 is to bring together researchers of different scientific fields working on or interested in Robot Learning. EWLR is an interdisciplinary workshop and aims to stimulate an exchange of ideas across the different fields. EWLR has good foundations to achieve this ambitious goal. The European Machine Learning and Robotics community has already organised a series of seven successful workshops: Vienna (1993), Torino (1994), Heraklion (1995), Karlsruhe (1995), Bari (1996), Brighton (1997), and Edinburgh (1998) , incorporating researchers from various fields over the years.

Call for Papers


We invite the submission of papers on any area of learning and adaptive robotics. Topics of interest include (but are not restricted to): The EWLRs focus on - but are *not* restricted to - European research.

Submission information

Papers may be submitted by email, ftp or as hardcopy. Electronic submission is encouraged. Submitted papers (max 10 A4 pages, two columns, single-spaced, body text size 10 pt, LaTeX files available at the workshop's WWW page) should be in postscript format (try using 'gzip' and 'uuencode' to reduce the size, and check whether the size of the file you are sending is within the size limits of your e-mailer). All submissions must REACH the chair by the deadline. Papers should include full contact details (including email addresses) and affiliation of authors. You can download the EWLR LaTeX style file. Decompressed and de-archived versions of these files are available by ftp at ftp://ftp.cs.bham.ac.uk/pub/authors/J.L.Wyatt/ewlr8/ .


All accepted papers will be published in the Proceedings of the workshop, which will be available at the workshop. As for the last two years, we aim to publish a selection of the best papers in a book (the publisher in 1997 was Springer-Verlag, Lecture Notes in AI).


A programme is now available.

Registration, Travel & Accommodation information

The workshop will take place at EPFL (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne). The address is Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, CH - 1015, Lausanne.

The venue is Room 202 in the Informatique building. It's marked IN on this map


The workshop is open to all interested people. Registration will take place on Saturday morning, before the workshop starts. The registration fee includes admission, proceedings, and coffee/tea/biscuits etc during coffee breaks. In order to register, email ewlr8@cs.bham.ac.uk with your name, affiliation and contact information (including email address), preferably before September 1st 1999. You can use this form . You do not need to send money in advance, payment will be handled during registration. We will not be able to accept credit cards. We will still admit people even if they haven't registered in advance, but we might have to mail the proceedings to them after the workshop if there aren't any spare ones left (we will have some extras).

The registration fee has now been fixed at 70 Swiss Francs.

Travel & Accommodation

We have compiled a list of useful information to help you plan your trip and your accommodation.

Programme Committee

  • Minoru Asada, Osaka University, Japan.
  • Luc Berthouze, Electrotechnical Laboratory, Japan.
  • Andreas Birk, AI Lab, VUB, Brussels, Belgium.
  • Daniel Bullock, Cognitive and Neural Systems Department, Boston University, USA.
  • Kerstin Dautenhahn, Department of Cybernetics, University of Reading, UK.
  • Edwin De Jong, Artificial Intelligence Laboratory, VUB, Belgium.
  • Ruediger Dillmann, Universitaet Karlsruhe, Germany.
  • Marco Dorigo, IRIDIA, Universit Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium.
  • Dario Floreano, LAMI, Ecole Polytechnic Federale de Lausanne.
  • Luca Maria Gambardella, IDSIA, Switzerland.
  • Philippe Gaussier, Neurocybernetics group, ETIS, ENSEA, France.
  • John Hallam, Dept. of Artificial Intelligence, University of Edinburgh, UK.
  • Inman Harvey, Centre for Computational Neuroscience and Robotics, University of Sussex, UK.
  • Gillian Hayes, Dept. of Artificial Intelligence, University of Edinburgh, UK.
  • Yasuo Kuniyoshi, Electrotechnical Laboratory, Japan.
  • Ramon Lopez de Mantaras, IIIA, CSIC, Spain.
  • Henrik Lund, Computer Science Department, Aarhus University, Denmark.
  • Sridhar Mahadevan, Dept of Computer Science, Michigan State University, USA.
  • Masoud Mohammadian, School of Computing, University of Canberra, Australia.
  • Ulrich Nehmzow, Dept of Computer Science, University of Manchester, UK.
  • Stefano Nolfi, Institute of Psychology, CNR, Italy.
  • Ashwin Ram, College of Computing, Georgia Tech, USA.
  • Stefan Schaal, University of Southern California and ERATO/JST.
  • Patrick van der Smagt, Institute of Robotics and System Dynamics, German Aerospace Research.
  • Adrian Thompson, Centre for Computational Neuroscience and Robotics, University of Sussex, UK.
  • Hendrik Van Brussel, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium.
  • Jun Tani, Sony Computer Science Lab, Tokyo, Japan.
  • Carme Torras, Institut de Robotica i Informatica Industrial, UPC, Spain.
  • Important Dates

  • May 1, deadline for submission of papers
  • May 2, submission acknowledgment.
  • June 2, notification of acceptance/rejection.
  • July 8th, deadline for submission of final manuscripts.
  • September 18th, workshop in Lausanne.
  • Organisers


    Jeremy Wyatt

    School of Computer Science
    University of Birmingham
    Birmingham, UK
    B15 2TT



    John Demiris

    Institute of Perception, Action and Behaviour
    Division of Informatics
    University of Edinburgh
    Edinburgh, Scotland, UK
    EH1 2QL


    Back to top