A Machine Learning Approach for the Integration of miRNA-Target Predictions

Created by W.Langdon from gp-bibliography.bib Revision:1.4524

  author =       "S. Beretta and M. Castelli and Yuliana Martinez and 
                 Luis Munoz and Sara Silva and Leonardo Trujillo and 
                 Luciano Milanesi and Ivan Merelli",
  booktitle =    "2016 24th Euromicro International Conference on
                 Parallel, Distributed, and Network-Based Processing
  title =        "A Machine Learning Approach for the Integration of
                 {miRNA}-Target Predictions",
  year =         "2016",
  pages =        "528--534",
  abstract =     "Although several computational methods have been
                 developed for predicting interactions between miRNA and
                 target genes, there are substantial differences in the
                 achieved results. For this reason, machine learning
                 approaches are widely used for integrating the
                 predictions obtained from different tools. In this work
                 we adopt a method, called M3GP, which relies on a
                 genetic programming approach, to classify results from
                 three tools: miRanda, TargetScan, and RNAhybrid. Such
                 algorithm is highly parallelisable and its adoption
                 provides great advantages while handling problems
                 involving big datasets, since it is independent from
                 the implementation and from the architecture on which
                 it is executed. More precisely, we apply this technique
                 for the classification of the achieved miRNA target
                 predictions and we compare its results with those
                 obtained with other classifiers.",
  keywords =     "genetic algorithms, genetic programming",
  DOI =          "doi:10.1109/PDP.2016.125",
  month =        feb,
  notes =        "Also known as \cite{7445385}",

Genetic Programming entries for Stefano Beretta Mauro Castelli Yuliana Martinez Luis Munoz Delgado Sara Silva Leonardo Trujillo Luciano Milanesi Ivan Merelli