Runtime NBTI Mitigation for Processor Lifespan Extension via Selective Node Control

Created by W.Langdon from gp-bibliography.bib Revision:1.4420

  author =       "Song Bian and Michihiro Shintani and Zheng Wang and 
                 Masayuki Hiromoto and Anupam Chattopadhyay and 
                 Takashi Sato",
  booktitle =    "2016 IEEE 25th Asian Test Symposium (ATS)",
  title =        "Runtime NBTI Mitigation for Processor Lifespan
                 Extension via Selective Node Control",
  year =         "2016",
  pages =        "234--239",
  abstract =     "Negative bias temperature instability (NBTI) has
                 become one of the major reliability concerns for
                 nanoscale CMOS technology. The NBTI effect degrades
                 pMOS transistors by stressing them with negatively
                 biased voltage, while the transistors heal themselves
                 as the negative bias is removed. In this paper, we
                 propose a cross-layer mitigation technique for
                 NBTI-induced timing degradation in processors. The NOP
                 (No Operation) instruction is replaced by a custom NOP
                 instruction for healing purpose. Cells that are likely
                 to be stressed under negative bias are classified and
                 their upstream cell will be replaced by the internal
                 node control (INC) logics. Upon encountering a custom
                 NOP instruction, the INC logics will force the
                 NBTI-stressed cell to be in its healing mode. The
                 optimal INC logic insertion through genetic programming
                 approach achieves much greater delay mitigation of
                 44.3percent than prior works in a 10-year span with
                 less than 4percent of power and negligible area
  keywords =     "genetic algorithms, genetic programming",
  DOI =          "doi:10.1109/ATS.2016.31",
  month =        nov,
  notes =        "Also known as \cite{7796119}",

Genetic Programming entries for Song Bian Michihiro Shintani Zheng Wang Masayuki Hiromoto Anupam Chattopadhyay Takashi Sato