An Analysis of the Behaviour of Mutation in Grammatical Evolution

Created by W.Langdon from gp-bibliography.bib Revision:1.4496

  author =       "Jonathan Byrne and James McDermott and 
                 Michael O'Neill and Anthony Brabazon",
  title =        "An Analysis of the Behaviour of Mutation in
                 Grammatical Evolution",
  booktitle =    "Proceedings of the 13th European Conference on Genetic
                 Programming, EuroGP 2010",
  year =         "2010",
  editor =       "Anna Isabel Esparcia-Alcazar and Aniko Ekart and 
                 Sara Silva and Stephen Dignum and A. Sima Uyar",
  volume =       "6021",
  series =       "LNCS",
  pages =        "14--25",
  address =      "Istanbul",
  month =        "7-9 " # apr,
  organisation = "EvoStar",
  publisher =    "Springer",
  keywords =     "genetic algorithms, genetic programming",
  isbn13 =       "978-3-642-12147-0",
  DOI =          "doi:10.1007/978-3-642-12148-7_2",
  abstract =     "This study attempts to decompose the behaviour of
                 mutation in Grammatical Evolution (GE). Standard GE
                 mutation can be divided into two types of events, those
                 that are structural in nature and those that are nodal.
                 A structural event can alter the length of the
                 phenotype whereas a nodal event simply alters the value
                 at any terminal (leaf or internal node) of a derivation
                 tree. We analyse the behaviour of standard mutation and
                 compare it to the behaviour of its nodal and structural
                 components. These results are then compared with
                 standard GP operators to see how they differ. This
                 study increases our understanding of how the search
                 operators of an evolutionary algorithm behave.",
  notes =        "Part of \cite{Esparcia-Alcazar:2010:GP} EuroGP'2010
                 held in conjunction with EvoCOP2010 EvoBIO2010 and

Genetic Programming entries for Jonathan Byrne James McDermott Michael O'Neill Anthony Brabazon