Genetic Programming for Attribute Construction in Data Mining

Created by W.Langdon from gp-bibliography.bib Revision:1.4340

  author =       "Fernando E. B. Otero and Monique M. S. Silva and 
                 Alex A. Freitas and Julio C. Nievola",
  title =        "Genetic Programming for Attribute Construction in Data
  booktitle =    "Genetic Programming, Proceedings of EuroGP'2003",
  year =         "2003",
  editor =       "Conor Ryan and Terence Soule and Maarten Keijzer and 
                 Edward Tsang and Riccardo Poli and Ernesto Costa",
  volume =       "2610",
  series =       "LNCS",
  pages =        "384--393",
  address =      "Essex",
  publisher_address = "Berlin",
  month =        "14-16 " # apr,
  organisation = "EvoNet",
  publisher =    "Springer-Verlag",
  keywords =     "genetic algorithms, genetic programming, feature
                 construction: Poster",
  URL =          "",
  URL =          "",
  ISBN =         "3-540-00971-X",
  URL =          "",
  DOI =          "doi:10.1007/3-540-36599-0_36",
  abstract =     "For a given data set, its set of attributes defines
                 its data space representation. The quality of a data
                 space representation is one of the most important
                 factors influencing the performance of a data mining
                 algorithm. The attributes defining the data space can
                 be inadequate, making it difficult to discover
                 high-quality knowledge. In order to solve this problem,
                 this paper proposes a Genetic Programming algorithm
                 developed for attribute construction. This algorithm
                 constructs new attributes out of the original
                 attributes of the data set, performing an important
                 preprocessing step for the subsequent application of a
                 data mining algorithm.",
  notes =        "EuroGP'2003 held in conjunction with EvoWorkshops

Genetic Programming entries for Fernando Esteban Barril Otero Monique M S Silva Alex Alves Freitas Julio C Nievola