Staff Handbook: 2.1 The School and the University


1. Colleges and Schools

The five "Colleges" are the primary focus for the management of the University (Ordinance 2.1.1). The School of Computer Science is part of the College of Engineering and Physical Sciences. Each College has a College Assembly, which all members of staff within the College are part of (Regulations 2.2.1). The College Assembly meets at least three times each academic year. The Head of College is advised by the College Board

Each College consists of several Principal Academic Units, called "Schools". There are nine Schools within the College of Engineering and Physical Sciences:

  • Chemical Engineering
  • Chemistry
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Science
  • Electronic, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Metallurgy and Materials
  • Physics and Astronomy

2. University Executive Board

The University Executive Board (UEB) is a committee of the Council and consists of the Vice Chancellor and Principal (Chair), the Vice Principal, the Pro-Vice Chancellors, the Heads of Colleges and the Registrar and Secretary. UEB makes decisions regarding 'the University's strategy, operation or management' (Ordinance 2.14.2)

3. Senate

Senate is responsible for regulating and directing the academic work of the University (Ordinance 2.10.1). This includes admission, teaching, assessment and research, and the regulation of student discipline and academic progress. The online Session Diary gives a calendar of meetings of Senate and subcommittees.

The composition of Senate was changed in line with the University Reorganisation in 2008. It is chaired by the Vice Chancellor and Principal and has 55 members. Each College is represented by its Head, three College Board members nominated by the Head of College, and four members of the academic or research staff of the College, elected by the academic and research staff of the College. Senate is answerable to Council, the senior governing body of the University (Ordinance 2.10.1). Senate meets four times per year.

4. Academic Services

Academic Services is equivalent to the "Registry" in many other universities. New degree programmes and modules have to be submitted to Academic Services. The procedures for proposing new programmes and modules are described in 3.2.1 and 3.2.2 of this handbook. Academic Services carries out the administration of programme and module descriptions, student applications and admissions, student records, student scholarships and financial support, timetabling and room bookings, examinations, and degree congregations. Its website contains useful guidance on all these matters.

5. Committees and Officers of the University

Much business is delegated to committees or officers of the university, such as the Vice-Chancellor.

Strategy, Planning and Resources Committee (SPRC) This is a committee of Council and has a duty to "ensure effective management within the University." It formulates academic, financial and physical plans. The University's Strategic Framework for 2010-2015 is available online.

Professors are appointed by the Vice-Chancellor on behalf of Council (Ordinance 3.16), following the recommendation of an Electoral Board (Ordinance 3.16). The Electoral Board includes the Vice-Chancellor and Principal, the Head of College concerned and a number of professors, including at least one from outside the School concerned.

Heads of School are also appointed by the University Executive Board on the recommendation of the Head of College (Ordinance 3.10.4 and Regulations 3.1).

Joint Safety Advisory Committee This is the statutory committee for consultation on all safety aspects of University operations, and includes trade union representatives. The Health and Safety Unit supports the implementation of the University's health and safety policy.