BLC Newsletter August 2009

Registered Charity No 275541

President           Professor J M E Hyland [Cambridge]
Vice-President      Professor T Williamson FBA FRSE [Oxford]
Treasurer           Professor D Macpherson [Leeds]
Secretary           Dr N Alechina [Nottingham]
                      Dr U Berger [Swansea]
                      Dr E Ritter [Birmingham]
                      Dr G Wilmers [Manchester]


(1) The BLC 2009 registration reminder

(2)  Ivor Grattan-Guinness awarded the Kenneth O. May Prize and Medal

(3) 2010 Federated Logic Conference FLOC 2010 first announcement

(4) LOFT 2010 call for papers

(1) BLC 2009, September 3-5.
Registration is still possible. The fee for BLC members is
40 pounds and includes a light lunch on Friday, 4th September.
(For further details please consult the BLC 2009 website

The Annual General Meeting of the BLC will take place on Friday the 4th
of September at 17:30. Agenda, minutes of the previous AGM and
committee report for 2008 will be circulated at the end of August.


(2) Ivor Grattan-Guinness has just been awarded the Kenneth O. May Prize
and Medal ( for his 
contributions to the History of Mathematics. It was awarded by the 
International Commission for the History of Mathematics at the 23rd 
International Congress of the History of Science and Technology (28 
July - 2 August 2009 Budapest, Hungary).



Edinburgh, Scotland, U.K.

July 9-21, 2010

* In 1996, as part of its Special Year on Logic and Algorithms, DIMACS 
hosted the first Federated Logic Conference (FLoC). It was modeled after 
the successful Federated Computer Research Conference (FCRC), and 
synergetically brought together conferences that apply logic to computer 
science.  The second Federated Logic Conference (FLoC'99) was held in 
Trento, Italy, in 1999, the third (FLoC'02) was held in Copenhagen, 
Denmark, in 2002, and the fourth (FLoC'06) was held in Seattle, 
Washington, USA.

* We are pleased to announce the fifth Federated Logic Conference 
(FLoC'10) to be held in Edinburgh, Scotland, U.K. (, 
in July 2010, at the School of Informatics at University of Edinburgh 
* The following conferences will participate in FLoC:
   Int'l Conference on Computer-Aided Verification (CAV)
   Int'l Conference on Logic Programming (ICLP)
   Int'l Joint Conference on Automated Reasoning (IJCAR)
   Int'l Conference on Interactive Theorem Proving (ITP)
   IEEE Symposium on Logic in Computer Science (LICS)
   Int'l Conference on Rewriting Techniques and Applications (RTA)
   Int'l Conference on Theory and Applications of Satisfiability Testing 
* Pre-conference workshops will be held on July 9-10.  ITP, LICS, RTA, 
and SAT will be held in parallel on July 11-14, to be followed by 
mid-conference workshops on July 14-15. CAV, ICLP, and IJCAR will be 
held in parallel on July 16-19, to be followed by post-conference 
workshops on July 20-21.Plenary events involving all the conferences are 
planned. There will be receptions in the Edinburgh Castle and at the 
National Galleries of Scotland.
* The call for workshop proposals can be found at the FLoC web page
   ( Calls for papers will be issued in 
the near future. For additional information regarding the participating 
meetings, please check the FLoC web page later this summer.
* FLoC'10 Steering Committee:
    - General Chair: Moshe Y. Vardi
    - Conference Co-chairs: Leonid Libkin, Gordon Plotkin
    - CAV Representative: Edmund Clarke
    - ICLP Representative: Manuel Hermenegildo
    - IJCAR Representative: Alan Bundy
    - ITP Representative: Tobias Nipkow
    - LICS Representative: Martin Abadi
    - RTA Representative: Juergen Giesl
    - SAT Representative: Enrico Giunchiglia
    - EasyChair Representative: Andrei Voronkov


(4) Ninth Conference on Logic and the Foundations of Game and Decision

University of Toulouse , France, 21-23 July 2010

This is the ninth in a series of conferences on the applications of
logical methods to foundational issues in the theory of individual and
interactive decision-making. Preference is given to papers which bring
together the work and problems of several fields, such as game and
decision theory, logic, computer science and artificial intelligence,
philosophy, cognitive psychology, mathematics and mind sciences.

The previous eight conferences took place at CIRM (Marseille, France) in
January 1994, at ICER (Torino, Italy) in December 1996, December 1998,
July 2000 and July 2002, in Leipzig in July 2004, in Liverpool in July
2006 and in Amsterdam in 2008

Among the topics of particular relevance are:

(*) Modal logics for games and protocols: epistemic and deontic logic,
multi-agent logic, temporal logic, dynamic logic, probabilistic and
multivalued logic, logic of belief revision.

(*) Foundations of game and decision theory: epistemic foundations of
solution concepts, information processing and communication in games,
belief formation and revision in games.

(*) Learning and information-processing models: economic aspects of
information processing, learning in game-theoretic contexts, inductive
learning and inductive decision making.

(*) Bounded rationality approaches to game and decision theory.

The three-day conference will give opportunity for paper presentations and
discussions. Potential contributors should submit an extended abstract
of approximately 5 - 10 pages in PDF format through
The deadline for submission is March 15, 2010, and authors will be
notified of acceptance decisions by April 18, 2010.

For a list of publications based on previous LOFT conferences see
We anticipate that a selection of the papers presented at LOFT9 will
be published in a special issue of a journal.

Program Chairs:
Giacomo Bonanno, University of California Davis, U.S.A.
Andreas Herzig, University of Toulouse, France
Wiebe van der Hoek, University of Liverpool, United Kingdom
Jerome Lang, University of Toulouse, France

Program Committee:
Geir Asheim, University of Oslo, Norway
Oliver  Board, University of Pittsburgh, USA
Vincent Conitzer, Duke University, USA
Ulle Endriss, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Sebastian Enqvist, Lund University, Sweden
Joe Halpern, Cornell University, USA
Christian List, London School of Economics, United Kingdom
Benedikt Loewe, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Larry Moss, Indiana University, USA
Herve Moulin, Rice University, USA
Eric Pacuit, Tilburg University, The Netherlands
Andres Perea,  Maastricht University, The Netherlands
Wlodek Rabinowicz, Lund University, Sweden
R Ramanujam, Chennai Institute of Mathematical Sciences, India
Olivier Roy, University of Groningen, The Netherlands
Hannu Salonen, University of Turku, Finland
Wolfgang Spohn, University of Konstanz, Germany
Moshe Tennenholtz, Technion Institute of Technology, Israel

Important Dates:
Deadline for submission: 15 March, 2010
Notification to authors: 18 April, 2010
Conference: 21-23 July 2010


Home Index


Page maintained by

Last modified: Fri Nov 20 18:23:00 GMT 2009